“That is really well done.”

Oct 29

We’ve had some great fun over the past two days. Here’s a short list of the things we did:
Notre-Dame – big and old
Sewer Tour – smelly
Musee d’Orsay – Monet, van Gogh, Renoir and other impressionist paintings.
Segway Tour – So very cool. I want one.
Louvre – big. really big. really, incredibly big. Mona Lisa is small.
Catacombs – creepy. I’m allergic to the Dust of the Dead.
Montmartre – big hill, long climb. View ruined by fog/mist/haze.

So here I am in the Louvre, one of the worlds greatest collection of fine art throughout history. I can appreciate art but it just doesn’t do anything for me. I don’t like looking at art just for the sake of art. There has to be “something” about the art or subject otherwise my eyes glaze and I start thinking about how to escape if zombies attack.

We spent a while walking around looking at things like the Mona Lisa and Venus de Milo and hundreds of other paintings that were probably very famous for one reason or another. I was thoroughly bored. As we walked through a room of sculptures I stopped to look at one of Hermaphrodite laying on a bed and pillow. The pillow looked incredibly real. I turned to my buddy and said, “That is really well done.” He had to sit down he was laughing so hard.

Leave a Reply

